Beans are vegan – cooked in vegetable oil. Rice is NOT – it is cooked in chicken stock. Get the Tacos Sin Nombre.
For years, the story on whether the rice at Ponak’s, one of Southwest Boulevard’s Mexican restaurants and margarita wonderlands, was vegan/vegetarian seemed clear. For years, we (and our friends) were told that it was indeed vegetarian. Then, last year, a particular attentive server told us he’d been working there for 17+ years and that was absolutely not the case – their rice was always prepared using chicken broth.
But I learned tonight they now offer two kinds of rice – their old standard, and a new vegetarian preparation. For those of you who, like me, think rice and beans (their beans are vegan, too) are the best part of Mexican food, have at it. Be sure to ask for the vegetarian rice with your meal, and take this as a reminder that enough people simply asking questions can have an effect.